Daily Archives: June 27, 2012

Why I’m Excited For The Amazing Spider-Man!

Here are the top 5 reasons that I am looking forward to The Amazing Spider-Man which hits theatres on July 3.

5. I’m pretty okay with the whole reboot thing. I understand that Marvel and Disney and whoever is in charge over there didn’t really wait very long to take another crack at Spidey… but I’m not a diehard Marvel guy. So I’m cool with that. (edit: Sony, how did I forget that? duh)

4. I totally dig the TV cartoon series, The Spectacular Spider-Man which puts Peter Parker back in high school, crushing on Gwen, being friends with MJ, dealing with Flash and learning how to be Spider-Man. This flick puts most of these things back in play and I’m hoping that they can do it well.

3. I like Super Hero movies. I like the production value. And good vs evil. And costumes. And damsels in distress. And secret identities. And all the rest that comes with it. Sure, Peter Parker is no Bruce Wayne… but he ain’t the worst thing that could happen to movie goers.

2. We’ve got a new villain! That’s right. In a rare move, we get an previously unseen villain in a reboot. Dr. Curt Connors/ The Lizard will bring something new to the story (a closer personal connection) and the fights that Tobey and the previous baddies didn’t. And I like it.

1. Emma Stone. There, I said it. Hell, she’s the reason that I’m writing this post. I just wanted to write this point with her name. Fun fact, Emma Stone is a natural blonde and will be playing one as Gwen Stacy. I have a pretty significant Hollywood crush on Emma Stone. Loved her in The Help. Loved her in Easy A. Am pretty certain that I’ll love her in The Amazing Spider-Man.

Here’s hoping that you’re excited to see the webslinger back on the big screen too.

Even if it is just something to hold us all over to The Dark Knight Rises!