Daily Archives: October 19, 2013

Screemers Scares the Masses – Halloween 2013

Screemers HeaderLast night I had a chance to get the living bejesus scared out of me… and I did it. With and invite to #ScreemersNightOut and a costume on for the first time this Halloween season, I walked over to the Queen Elizabeth Building for some drinks, snacks and scares.

Oh and candy.

Note: If you are walking to Screemers this year you will have to detour through Liberty Village because of the Dufferin Street Bridge closure. Head south on Atlantic Ave and get access to the CNE grounds via the Exhibition GO Station.

Last year I went to Screemers for the first time since Frosh Week in 2001. So when I went last night to make it back to back years I felt significantly more prepared for the noise and dark and screams and things that go bump in the night. And there’s a lot of all of those things.

In the Screem Elizabeth Building there are 6 Haunted Houses and outside there’s a mini-midway with bumper cars (which I was awesome at), a ferris wheel, games, Tiny Tom Donuts and more. It’s a great mix of scare hard and relax at the fair.

There are also some pretty awesome displays set up in the hallway of the building. The zombie looking hell hounds were a big hit… you can see the video that I grabbed on Instagram, here. And if that’s not enough for you, Trish snagged a video of her own too. I also like the graveyard (a classic) and the upside down bloody hanging dude.

Screemers Scary Displays 2013

I’ve got a couple favourite houses in the building… but I think that for a 2nd year in a row, the House of Cards tops my list with its visual assault of trippy, neon, blacklight, 3-D, strobe light madness. 4 of us went in together and while I wasn’t at the front of the pack, I wasn’t at the back either. I’ll call that a win for my man-card, since I’ve never purported to be the kind of dude that runs into the most terrifying of circumstances just for something to do.

Every house has things that jump and scream and scare and make you flinch and hesitate and want to go faster all at the same time. Pay attention to your footing when you’re walking as well. Once in a while there’s a little step and you don’t wanna go down!

Hey, remember I said that I wore a costume? Turns out that I won the Best Dude in Costume prize that I didn’t even know was up for grabs. I came home with a couple t-shirts from Molson and Mike’s Hard and a hat and a duffel bag and a couple bottle openers. And… it turns out that the big get is a 1 year supply of Pizza Pizza. Those details are still on their way to me and I won’t lie, I’m excited about it.

Pirate Joshua at #ScreemersNightOut 2013Look ma, I’m a pirate. ARRRRR! 

If you’re the kind that likes to have a little fear thrown at them, get your friends together and get down to the CNE grounds. There are still 2 full weekends of scares left, including Halloween and the post-Halloween Friday and Saturday!

Check out the website for more details and get Screemers tickets online or at the door.

It’s worth it. Dress up. Bring friends. Scream. Cry. Laugh. Eat. Drink (bar available to those 19+). And then head home to have scary dreams.

It’s awesome!